Guilty pleasures to Cutouts

Returning from holiday from Turkey, I was inspired by the Turkish patterns and designs used within architecture, paintings, chandeliers. Visiting various palaces such as the Dolmabahçe Palace, the exuberance of wealth was so profound it literally screamed in your face. I wanted to be able to incorporate this within my project but with the theme I had chosen; “Guilty Pleasures” this was not a correct fit. Looking at the other list of thematic options, Cutouts seemed the second best theme.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Due to the turn of theme change I had to ensure that I was up to date. The images taken by me are the best primary resources for me to replicate and create illustrations. This was not the case for the initial Guilty Pleasures project, as I was using secondary based images. This didn’t give me the same leniency. From the theme of cutouts, I aim to create intricate paper lace postcards incorporating Turkish fused elements.

Leave a comment